Fair Enough...

Sunday, September 12, 2004

Observational Humor, Cowboys, & Masters vs. Ph.D.

http://www.stevehofstetter.com/

Hey everyone, just a quick shoutout to this guy. If you have never heard of him, he started on Collegehumor.com and is now trying to make a living as a comic. He has an emailed column every week called Observational Humor which gives me something to smile about every Sunday. Just thought I would pass something on I have enjoyed for like 3 years now.

Oh yeah, boo Cowboys... how many penalties can you have? I guess a lot for as dirty as we played. Boooo...

Also, I have to write about the biggest dilemma that is facing me right now. I am currently enrolled in the Counseling Masters program at UNT. I can get a masters in two years, paying 6-8 grand a year for tuition plus living expenses (which suck) and then get licensed as an L.P.C. That stands for a licensed practicing counselor I'm pretty sure. That basically gives me the ability to work with clients; however, I have to be supervised. This may be changing in the future and has already changed in two states. I'm not sure how Texas is at this moment, but there is a large movement by the APA (American Psychological Association) to not let this happen. They think that you should have an equal balance in science and in practice to be called a Psychologist + practice on your own.

So, I could go and get my Ph.D. BUT that would take 5-6 years total (including this one) which would put me at around 28 when I would START to make money. Woohoo. However, I would be making considerably more money (apparently) and be able to open a private practice. Also I could work for companies in house and possibly teach if I wanted. I have read places that there is a push for insurance companies to prefer to pay MA's b/c they do charge less. But thats usually because MA's don't set their own prices.

I'm in a conundrum because my family has inferred that they want me to get my DR. b/c of the opprotunities involved. I can understand this, but I am talking to them tonight on financing the whole thing. Kind of scary. On the other hand, Megan wants me to (do what I want to do first off), but would prefer me to go get my masters b/c I could start making money sooner. Which completely resonates with me too. I'm in the midst of this, and by no means am close to a decision, but if you are reading this far, maybe you'll waste more of your time and weigh the pro's and con's with me further.

-Logan

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home