Fair Enough...

Monday, September 20, 2004

The Sequel to 'Da Accountant'

Well, for all of those familiar with the rapping genius of 'Da Accountant,' there is a new rapper in town. Check it out:


Mudd1313: Mills, I thought of the sequel to 'Da Accountant' Something along the lines of a Statistical rapping mastermind...

millsplayground: oooh
millsplayground: I like it
millsplayground: you've been planning
Mudd1313: I thought of it when I was in my Stat class, check it out, its an away message

My Stat Professor on Probability: So... probability... its like this, a guy walks into an old west saloon and sees some guys playing cards. "They are like, come play poker!" The stranger replies he doesn't know how but plays anyway. What are the chances of him getting five royal flushes in a row? Pretty slim huh? Yeah, so they drag the stranger into the street and say, "We reject the null hypothesis!" BANG! and shoot him dead.

Mudd1313: I mean, someone saying that he rejects the null hypothesis, and then shoots you... genius
millsplayground: hahaha
millsplayground: that's brilliant
Mudd1313: maybe a urine test could be a t-test
Mudd1313: or making a deal could be a z-score
millsplayground: haha
millsplayground: this is wonderful news
Mudd1313: I figured you'd like it
millsplayground: The Statistical Rapping Mastermind
millsplayground: I'm saving these quotes
Mudd1313: I don't know about the name
Mudd1313: fair enough
millsplayground: we'll think of a better one
Mudd1313: maybe think of another meaning for ANOVA
Mudd1313: or MANOVA
millsplayground: such as "it ANOVA mutha fucka"
Mudd1313: lol
Mudd1313: gonna fit yo ass on a normal distribution biotch!
millsplayground: you realize that this is why we went to Rhodes!
millsplayground: hahaha
Mudd1313: yup yup
millsplayground: normalize yo!
Mudd1313: you got ta normalize, before you can analyze!
Mudd1313: they are just comin to me now
Mudd1313: baby had the bell curve
millsplayground: hold up, I gotta go give these hos a two-tailed test
Mudd1313: ROFL
millsplayground: these are awesome

Wednesday, September 15, 2004

You Don't Say?

http://www.nypost.com/postopinion/opedcolumnists/28562.htm

I think this article really highlights through some polls the trouble that Kerry is truly in. And its deep.

Monday, September 13, 2004

Will the Real Campaign Please Stand Up?

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,132200,00.html

Can we get back to the friggin issues please? I mean seriously, this crap about Bush's National Guard stint is bordering absurd. Don't we have some more current military service Bush has been a part of lately? Like being the Commander and Chief for 4 years. At least try and make a connection between the two things. I just have this gut feeling that he hasn't been skipping out on time he has owed to the military in the past four years. Yes, he has used them, but he has also show the utmost appreciation. In my memory I can remember dozens of times he has personally thanked military personnel and family. But thats besides the case right? Right.

http://www.cnn.com/2004/ALLPOLITICS/09/13/kerry.monday.ap/index.html

In other news the assault gun ban expired. Seriously Republicans in Congress wtf? I know that the weapons must still be semi-automatic, and that normal hunting guns can circumvent this law already... but come on. Its an law that says people, mostly of the criminal intent cannot have assault weapons. If I went today and got an Uzi (under the law), by the end of tomorrow I could a) research how to make it fire automatic b) find the parts to do it c) get it done. And I have five hours of class tomorrow too! Honestly, its a bill that makes sense and saves lives. How about do both instead of pleasing your redneck constituents out there who think that we should have access to all guns. Isn't some sort of logic involved in this process. This isn't a slippery slope that we are dealing with that one day rubber band guns will be land you in 10-20(especially if they are those multi-barrel type). Its common sense.

That being said, Kerry making it a big deal by trying to make Bush look soft on crime is ridiculous. Even he could read the last line of that article that said: "On Sunday, the Justice Department said the nation's crime rate last year held steady at the lowest levels since the government began surveying crime victims in 1973, the latest in a decade-long trend showing violent crime falling."

===================================================
Also real quick on the economy and the war on terror.

Kerry is trying to say that we should divert money on the war on terror towards the economy. Well the #1 reason I'm voting for Bush is that he is protecting our economy. He is protecting our economy by going after those bastards so they don't do it again. He is trying his damndest to go out there an bring the fight to their doorstep so that they can't strike back and take out our economy along with it.

Sunday, September 12, 2004

Observational Humor, Cowboys, & Masters vs. Ph.D.

http://www.stevehofstetter.com/

Hey everyone, just a quick shoutout to this guy. If you have never heard of him, he started on Collegehumor.com and is now trying to make a living as a comic. He has an emailed column every week called Observational Humor which gives me something to smile about every Sunday. Just thought I would pass something on I have enjoyed for like 3 years now.

Oh yeah, boo Cowboys... how many penalties can you have? I guess a lot for as dirty as we played. Boooo...

Also, I have to write about the biggest dilemma that is facing me right now. I am currently enrolled in the Counseling Masters program at UNT. I can get a masters in two years, paying 6-8 grand a year for tuition plus living expenses (which suck) and then get licensed as an L.P.C. That stands for a licensed practicing counselor I'm pretty sure. That basically gives me the ability to work with clients; however, I have to be supervised. This may be changing in the future and has already changed in two states. I'm not sure how Texas is at this moment, but there is a large movement by the APA (American Psychological Association) to not let this happen. They think that you should have an equal balance in science and in practice to be called a Psychologist + practice on your own.

So, I could go and get my Ph.D. BUT that would take 5-6 years total (including this one) which would put me at around 28 when I would START to make money. Woohoo. However, I would be making considerably more money (apparently) and be able to open a private practice. Also I could work for companies in house and possibly teach if I wanted. I have read places that there is a push for insurance companies to prefer to pay MA's b/c they do charge less. But thats usually because MA's don't set their own prices.

I'm in a conundrum because my family has inferred that they want me to get my DR. b/c of the opprotunities involved. I can understand this, but I am talking to them tonight on financing the whole thing. Kind of scary. On the other hand, Megan wants me to (do what I want to do first off), but would prefer me to go get my masters b/c I could start making money sooner. Which completely resonates with me too. I'm in the midst of this, and by no means am close to a decision, but if you are reading this far, maybe you'll waste more of your time and weigh the pro's and con's with me further.

-Logan

Saturday, September 11, 2004

Texas Dominates, Logan Updates, 9/11

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncf/recap?gameId=242550008

In case you missed it... WOOHOO Hook'em Horns!!! Great game versus Arkansas, GREAT Game.

Anyways, didn't goto the Musuem thing today because we had such a great party last night. It was really fun. The place we were at was so amazing. The guy, Mike, had a movie theatre. Nuff said. We ended up staying the night because it was so wild. :) It was really funny, because Mike is like 40, and by the end of the night he was showing us 80's dance moves. I don't think I've seen anything more funny in my life. Coming a close second was the quote he had at the end of the night:

"I don't think I've ever had a hangover before I have gone to bed."

Good stuff. Tomorrow is lots of studying followed by dinner with Kathlene to wish her good luck in merry old England. Should be good times. :)

I saw a post on Jay Sulzman's blog about Remembering 9/11.
http://suljj.blogspot.com/2004/09/never-forget.html

I have to completely agree with him. His basic gist was that coming out of that terrible day there was a cry for our nation to work together, to make tough decisions, and to make tough sacrifices. Well 2004 has come around and we want to have our cake and eat it to. No deficit, a poor international opinion (of course this is debatable if this was new or just revealed), and our troops abroad. On the other hand, while terrorism is still out there en force, we have yet to see another attack on U.S. soil. There needs to be a renewed sense of national pride that we can work together to defeat the this evil in the world.

Remember... never forget.

P.S. As foreign policy is ruling our current presidential election, it is odd that on www.cnn.com the main page today was about Hurricane Ivan and not the 9/11 anniversary. Its subtle things like that which lead me to believe there is an inherent bias in the media. Take what you will from that. /end conspiracy theory

Friday, September 10, 2004

Results & CSI

Well, poker turned out good. I won 10 bucks, but we didn't get to finish the game. I was dissapointed, b/c I was playing well. I won most hands I played well, but I wasn't catching enough hands to win the most. Ah well. I figure I don't want to make too harsh of an impression so they'll invite me back when more people play. :) Who knows.

Anyways, I was going to work a bit today but I got into CSI today. They have a marathon on SPIKE TV, and that was my demise. There is are some really good episodes.

Anywho, I'm going to a party tonight. It should be a fun time. Its with a bunch of the UNT psych department peeps. One of the doctoral students is like 40, and has made quite a bit of money. Anyways, apparently he has a huge house out on Lake Lewisville along with a movie theatre. Woohoo. I'll give a post party recap sometime this weekend.

In the meantime, Megan and I are also going to go a Dali exhibit at the Forth Worth Musuem. Its supposed to be pretty cool as well. Check out the website:

http://www.kimbellart.org/exhibitions/exh_file.cfm?id=105

P.S. I'm also going to review Glengarry, Glenross and the moview M next blog. Two great movies I just saw. :)

Thursday, September 09, 2004

Poker and NFL

Well today has been a full day. Over five hours of classes, happy hour/s, and now off to poker. I'll have to let ya'll know how it goes.

Also, we've got the first football game of the season. :) I am looking forward to it, but I'm not sure how the 'Boys are gonna do. I am hopefull, but its a pretty stacked league this year. I am just hoping that Testaverde surprises us all. We added a lot of veteran talent this year that I hope will really benefit us in the future. I mean, Julius Jones looks really good, and he can only get better with the help of Eddie George's experience.

Well, crossin my fingers. Good luck with everyone's teams. I have to move on to NFL b/c Lord knows UNT isn't cutting it. ie. see over 60 point shutout vs. UT last weekend.

Later all.

Tuesday, September 07, 2004

How Can We Go Domestic After Chechnya?

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/5926893/

A good article about the state of the election and the fate of John Kerry.

Basically, IMO we have a double edged sword on our hands. Things are as dire as ever. In this I actually agree with Kerry. What you might say? Well that we have to keep our troops in Iraq for the long haul. Of course he said that in April when he thought he could win the foriegn policy battle against Bush. After the RNC, it is crystal clear that this is not the case. Point in case, Clinton before going under a life threatening surgery thought it was prudent to give Kerry advice. Domestic Domestic Domestic.

Once again re-focus your campaign on an issue you think you can win on. Well if he wins, he is going to have to at least try and live up to his promises which means one thing: He will bring troops out of Iraq. Probably the scariest proposition I have heard in a long time. At the end of the article he is quoted as saying he will try and bring a significant number of troops home within six months of getting into office. Of course he will be using all that international support that is just dying to get into Iraq. Spain? Oh yeah... oops.

This is scary in the long term and in the short term to me. This definately sets up a Spain type situation where terrorists wait to attack days before an election to impact a result. If Kerry is willing to pull out now, what would happen if terrorists attacked and he won in a landslide? I don't want to say worst case scenario... but its getting pretty close. Yikes.

Of course, the rest of the article basically outlines the Republican defense for this new tactic. The most obvious and effective argument if Kerry focuses on domestic affairs: The economy is actually doing alright. The economy is right about where the numbers were right before Clinton was elected in his second term. Its pretty decent, and even with all the troops abroad, we are actually trying to slow down the economy so that the current growth doesn't get out of hand.

I'm not even sure that Kerry understands what he is doing right now. I agree that he can't win with foriegn policy issues; however, it is even more clear to me now, more than ever, that this is where the battle must be fought. Just think about the last week. While we did reach the milestone of 1000 dead in Iraq, is their sacrifice not readily apparent with the recent attacks in Chechnya? That could be our school. That could our brothers and sisters, children and grandchildren. Our nation wept at the horrible horrible event that occured in Littleton, Colorado in April of 1999. 13 were gunned down in front of their classmates. Is it not so hard for us to fathom what it must be like to lose THREE HUNDERD CHILDREN to murderers who blow themselves up in front of the kids, shoot kids in the back, starve them for three days before they slaughter them? It could happen here, and we should not fool ourselves into thinking that we are not a prime target.

I can't say that I wouldn't do the same thing if I was in Kerry's position because after a powerful RNC, he is going to have to fight back in the next eight weeks. He is going to have to fight hard. I just hope he doesn't win.

Comments as always are appreciated.

Hot Shots Golf Fore!

http://www.cnn.com/2004/TECH/fun.games/09/06/review.golf/index.html

What else would you call the fourth game in a golf series? Anyways, for all the Rhodes people who played this... good stuff it sounds like. Now we just have to wait for exams so we can procrastinate the right way.

Friday, September 03, 2004

Don't They Know We Don't Negotiate?!

Flag Taken Hostage

An American flag flying atop the Brooklyn Bridge has been stolen, and protesters are threatening to burn it unless, "all jailed RNC protesters" are freed. The protesters, in a message on indymedia.org, also call for the resignations of New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Police Commissioner Ray Kelly, FBI Director Robert Mueller, Homeland Security Secretary Tom Ridge, and President Bush. Police are investigating the kidnapping. Meanwhile, a new American flag has been placed atop the bridge.

=======

Thats an actual news story right now. How crazy is this? I suppose they would like a cookie too? Truly... Fair Enough.

- In the next week when I have time I am going to post about a conversation I had with an Iranian yesterday. It was truly a conversation that I will not soon forget. I want to share it, but I want to do it justice too. Be on the look out.

Thursday, September 02, 2004

'Hero'... not the Greek Sandwhich

Well I'm through a week of grad school and I feel smarter already. Wait... thats the farthest from the truth. I'm makin it though. Already behind on reading I'm really not supposed to be able to finish in the first place...

Jacob came over last night and Megan too. Not only do they have that in common, but they also have that they both got their cars towed last night around 1AM. Woohoo. 120 bucks a piece. Good stuff huh? Anyways, besides that things are going good.

Going down to Austin this weekend probably with Ian, Megan and Sezen. Depending on the money situation... It should be a good time.

Got an IM from Lizz Brown and she is doing good. She broke up with Lagan and is hittin the scene in NYC. She says its a lot of fun, and is having a good time being single.

=====================================================

Anyways thought I would post about movies real quick. I'll be doing movie reviews occasionally on here, because I really love to watch em.

-Hero-

This movie is actually a couple of years old and does not have much to do with Quentin Tarantino. So why is this faux new movie being released now? Simple b/c it carries a lot of cinematic themes from Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon with it, and producers (wisely) didn't one impacting the other. This movie is one of the best movies I have seen in the last five years, if not ever. I saw and walked out of the movie theatre with a paticular feeling except for speechless. It truly awes the mind and the eye.

The premise behind it is: the main character Jackie Chan is a subject in this state in China. This is before the unification of China. In fact, the movie is about Jackie telling a story to the warlord that has dreams to one day unite China. The warlord is constantly worried that he will be assasinated by three assasins who are hell bent on destroying him. They are from neighboring warring states, and they all have a personal reason to kill this man. Jackie is telling the story about how he killed all three of the assasins and wishes to collect the bounty on them. This hardly begins to tell the plot; however, suffice to say it is fairly powerful. Coupled with this amazing story is how the camera work and the visual forethought put into this movie. In particular the director uses amazing colors in almost every scene. A different color for every flashback. For this feature alone, the movie is worth seeing.

I don't want to give anything away, but for me, it is a must see. You'll thank me.

P.S. 'Hero' is another great movie with a horrible title. Kinda like 'Collateral.'